My family threw a bomb, so I threw one back. Here’s the email.

I admire her strength and own-ness. And the fact that she guarded not just her own but also her partners dignity with aplomb.

Hats off.

phonaesthetica

Dear family,

I’d like to explain why I won’t be joining you for any of the lovely weekend events planned for Grandpa’s birthday: It has been gently, kindly explained to me (via text message) that my beloved partner’s presence makes one of you uncomfortable;  therefore, I am not welcome to bring her along.

I would like you, dear family, to imagine being told by someone you adore and admire that the sweetest, best person in your life – the person you have waited and hoped and worked for until the cusp of middle age – is a source of discomfort. Imagine that the smartest, wisest, most full-of-integrity person you have ever known; the one with whom you are finally your best self, is not welcome among the people you have loved since the day you were born.

Imagine being expected to understand this and just sort of be cool with it.

Now imagine being un-invited to the Sunday brunch you bought a new outfit for…

View original post 247 more words

3 thoughts on “My family threw a bomb, so I threw one back. Here’s the email.

Leave a Reply

